Task Force

In July 2020, President Nicholas Ladany formed the Diversity, Equity and Inclusion (DEI) Task Force, charged with identifying areas for growth and determining action steps. The task force is representative of students, faculty and staff.

DEI Task Force

  • Vice President of Diversity, Equity and Inclusion Dr. Laura Reneé Chandler, PhD – Chair
  • Registrar and Assistant Provost Brian Coldren
  • Assistant Professor of Sociology Dr. Janelle Pham
  • Student Government Association President Taylor Roberts ’21
  • Chief Information Officer Tanya Thompson
  • Lecturer of Core Studies Dr. Matthew Wild
  • Assistant Professor of Communication Studies Dr. Katharine Zakos

The task force assisted President Ladany with filling a new role: Vice President of Diversity, Equity and Inclusion. Oglethorpe announced Laura Reneé Chandler, PhD as inaugural Vice President of Diversity, Equity and Inclusion on Feb. 9. The Vice President is tasked with “recruitment and retention, campus climate, and community relations,” and reports directly to the president and sit on the President’s Cabinet.

Student Diversity Subcommittee

  • Nyree Dowdy ’21
  • Lidia Labrada ’23
  • Clara Grimaldo ’21
  • Taylor Roberts ’21
  • Hayleigh Stonham ’22
  • David Swillum ’21
  • Theo Williams ’23